Industry Leaders Elected to Running USA Board of Directors


Running USA is pleased to announce its newly elected Board of Directors, who begin their three year terms July 1


DETROIT (June 30, 2020) – Running USA is pleased to announce its newly elected Board of Directors, who will begin their service to the non-profit organization tomorrow.

Running USA members approved the election of a slate of eight board members to three-year director terms which will begin July 1, 2020 and conclude June 30, 2023. Five of those elected are incumbents returning to the board, which provides leadership and oversight to the organization on a year-round basis.

The new board members are:

Alex Bennett, Sr. Regional Director, Northeast at IRONMAN/Rock 'n' Roll Marathon Series

Meghan Najera, Co-Owner, RunFAR Racing Services

Kyle McLaughlin, CEO, Tough Mudder and Partner, Parachute Group

Continuing their service to the board for an additional three years as a result of the newly elected slate are:

Donna Grogan, Executive Director, American Academy of Forensic Sciences

Bryan Lively, President and CEO, ACL Squared Consulting

Heidi Swartz, Executive Director, The Cowtown

Matt West, CEO, DMSE

Tony Yamanaka, Vice President of Operations, Event Southwest

“We are pleased to welcome our new directors and look forward to their guidance and leadership,” said Running USA CEO Rich Harshbarger. “Running USA benefits greatly from the service of its all-volunteer board and their varied expertise in the running industry.”

The group will hold its next quarterly meeting virtually in July.


About Running USA

Running USA is a tax-exempt, not-for-profit organization devoted to improving the status and experience of distance running and racing in the United States through collective marketing and promotions, information and communications within the industry and to the national media, services to events and industry members, and the development of American world class stars. It seeks the advancement of the sport and the provision of value to each of its members' events and businesses. For more information, visit